Solid as a Rock

The past couple days I’ve been going through a struggle of going against something I know isn’t good for me but might make be happy for awhile and then how I’m going to have to deal with it everyday until May.  One reassurance that I found was that God is my Foundation- based on which something is built, to build on a solid base. I realized that any close relationship has to have that solid foundation found in a relationship with God.

Isaiah 28:16 This is what the sovereign Lord says: see I lay a stone in zion a tested stone a prexious cornerstone for a sure foundation. The one who trusts will never be dismayed. (Christ is that cornerstone whom we must build our lives around He has been tried and tested and he has withstood the test)

Matthew 8:25-27 “The rain came down the streams rose and the winds blew and beat against the house yet it didn’t fall because it had it’s foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears my words and doesn’t put them into practice is like the foolish man’s house on the sand.  (Everyone is building their foundation, is it on the Rock which is Jesus Christ? or is it with the world which will let you down when the tough times come?

another reassurance i’ve found is that when i’m fearful of what my life will bring. If what I will say will ruin things.  I remember that Fear- to be afraid is a human emotion and with God by your side you don’t have to be afraid. At fall retreat with campus crusade 2yrs ago a couple girls sang a song they had writeend based off of Isaiah 43:

When you Pass through the waters I will be with you, and the wind and the waves, will not will not over come you

Do not fear for I have redeemed you, I have called you by name and you are mine. For I am the Lord your God. I am the Lord your God. I am the Holy one of Israel your savior I am the Lord.

When you pass through the fire I will be with you, and the flames they will not, will not consume you

Do not fear for I have redeemed you, I have called you by name and you are mine. for I am the Lord your God. I am the Lord your God. I am the Holy one of Israel your savior I am the Lord.

I love this song and it has stayed with me the past couple years because it reminds me that God is with me through the little things as well as the big overwhelming things, to not fear, that I have been redeemed, He loves me (he wouldn’t redeem something he didn’t love), I am the Lord’s.

Published in: on March 10, 2010 at 2:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/solid-as-a-rock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

