Denied

Have you ever had something denied you several times? Well that has happen to me recently. I ordered my textbook from amazon.com wait for a week or so then they send me this e-mail saying “your book has been BACKORDERED” so I have to order it from a different company and by the time it comes it will be the 5th or 6th week into the semester. BOO!!

Then over Christmas break I had borrowed my professor’s pasta roller and was attempting to make pasta out of it but… Mistake number 1. forgot to put flour on it so it got stuck in the roller. mistake number 2. while attempting to get the dough free/clean from the roller I thought it would be a good idea to stick a wet paper towel through the roller. my logic  was that it was the same width as pasta and it would clean the rollers. mistake number 3. as I was getting the pasta dough/goop clean from the outside with the paper (while the rollers were still rolling) the edge of the paper towel got caught in the rollers and got wadded up and now they have permanently quit working. mistake number 4. I tried to get the paper towel out with a knife scratching the surface. This was just one big mess and I dreaded telling my professor who was also the head of the department who’s last words were “if you break it you’ll have to replace it.” to which I replied “I know it will be fine. ” stupid arrogant me.  I have been shopping around and very few people sell just the roller most places sell the whole set which is oober expensive. The places that sell just the roller are…BACKORDERED!!! However, I finally did find a place that would order me the roller i was super excited. Well sadly I got a call from them yesterday that they too have their roller on BACKORDER until APRIL!!!! AHHHHH tis not my luck!

You always hear about the successes of chefs and how great they are but somehow you never hear about their failures. Somehow they think if you hear about their failures they’ll be human or something. guess what they are!!! So to make me a bit more human here’s my epic failure kitchen story:  In international cuisine class we had to make baklava I thought I had that made! that is my absolute favorite, I’ve worked with Philo dough before and I’ve seen it done so it can’t be that hard. Turns out it’s a lot harder than it looks. I decided not to use the bread crumbs that it called for since I’ve never heard of a recipe with bread crumbs.  Mistake number 1. I cooked the syrup too long until it wasn’t drippy. mistake number 2. I put the honey syrup on before I baked it. The recipe said to bake it for 30 min. so by the time it came out and I chilled it in the freezer (for time’s sake) it was cemented to the pan literally I had to scrap it out. eventually i put it back in the oven to soften the honey which helped get it out of the pan but it still didn’t taste very good. Idk maybe I didn’t like the strong taste of the honey. However I went home last night and made baklava the way my Lebanese friend makes it and it was delicious.

Even-though I’ve been denied my textbook and the pasta maker I can still know that God is the same as he was yesterday, and he will remain the same today and forever. “All of Almight God is ours in the Lord Jesus! and he will reach to tthe last grain of sand and the remotest star to bless us if we will only obey Him Does it really matter that our circumstances are difficult? why shouldn’t they be! Learn to lavish the grace of God on others generously giving of yourself. Be marked and identified with God’s nature and His blessing will flow through you all the time.” ~ Oswald Chambers

Published in: on January 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/denied/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

