Complacency

Oh Blog how I have missed you…it’s funny how on spring break you think that you’ll have all this extra time but in reality your time get eaten up by in my case extra hours at work. Sometimes I wonder if it’s better to have a set schedule than just to do things on your own timetable b/c then i would have a set time to blog 🙂 so I look forward to this week where I will have my normal blogging blocks.

But as I’ve been chilling this week I’ve been keeping my idea journal up to date and I was reading in Zephaniah. Which you may think is a strange book to be blogging about but God spoke directly to Zephaniah warning him about the coming destruction of the nations of the surrounding areas and where hope could be found.

In his warning he says : I will sweep away everything from the face of the earth both men and animals birds of the air and fish of the sea-  He will also search Judah and punish those who are complacent who think the lord will do nothing either good or bad and their wealth will be plundered and their houses demolished.

Complacent- too confident and relaxed because you think you can deal with something easily, even though this may not be true

This seems to be an issue not only back in biblical times but even in society today there are complacent people and then there are people who are indifferent who just don’t care if life deals them the right cards or not.  But to think that God would specifically write that he would punish those kind of people I would want to take it as a warning to avoid becoming that type of person.

He also explains to Zephaniah about the great day of the Lord, it’s coming soon it will be a day of wrath, distress, darkness and gloom, a day of clouds and blackness. The whole world will be consumed.

Despite all the despair there is hope the Lord says to 3:8,9,13,17,19,20 “wait for me! for the day I will stand up to testify I have decided to assemble the nations to gather the kingdoms and to pour out my wrath on them. Then I will purify the lips of the people that all of them may call on the name of the lord and serve him shoulder to shoulder! The Lord your God us with your he is mighty to save he will take great delight in you he will quiet you with his love he will rejoice over you with singing. I will rescue the lame and gather those who have been scattered and will give them praise and honor. I will give you honor and praise among all the peoples of the earth when I restore your fortunes before your very eyes.

I can’t wait till everyone speaks one language that seeks to glorify God and I also am excited to work side by side with fellow believers.  Sigh…. just can’t wait for heaven.  But while I’m here Glorify God, reach others for the kingdom, Love, love, love, (love god, others, missions)

Well thats it for now I’ll be back later this week hopefully with synopsis of this weekend’s events (which were auesome)

Published in: on March 14, 2011 at 4:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/complacency/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

