is meditation a lost practice?

What would it look like for someone to forget about all the things on their schedule and completely focus on one aspect of their life to glean more knowledge or get better at that one thing? Would that person be esteemed? Would they been seen as unproductive b/c they focus their energy in doing one thing well instead of many things mediocre? I can’t just leave work tasks on the back burner (kitchen reference) while I focus on planning dinner. Our society is so focused on multitasking, the better you are at multitasking the more beneficial you are to your company. The word meditate means to clear your mind and to only focus your mind on one thing. I think meditating is a practice which we don’t take advantage of. Just think if I spent time thinking about how God has blessed me, how forgiving and merciful christ is towards me, or even what heaven will be like. How greater and enriched would my life be. I think the result would make me more loving, understanding and more in awe of God continually asking myself will what i’m doing or talking about make an eternal impact? Are others benefiting from my words or deeds? If not then I need an attitude adjustment which only comes from shifting my focus from myself and my problems to the cross making myself smaller and Christ bigger! 

 

Published in: on April 8, 2014 at 8:46 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/is-meditation-a-lost-practice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

