The foodie in me is rejoicing!

Ok so up until this point this blog has been a combination of spiritual realizations, life stories and my company itworks. I’d like to add another component. Since I moved to asheville on saturday I have been thrilled to see all the different shops and eateries around town. The foodie in me is rejoicing and my taste buds are happy after all the good food i’ve had this weekend. I will attempt to try to visit all the places in asheville. My goal is to try 4 places a month then review them on here and to keep track of my favorites and to perhaps give you an idea for your next date night 😉 I started my life in asheville off right with several places.

Early girl eatery- cute little place located in downtown. recommended to me by the lady working at a hotel downtown where i asked for directions. It’s quirkey, lots of vegetarian/vegan options. I had the black bean burger. I heard that it’s a rather busy place normally but seeing as we went at 2pm it was rather quiet. Great place for lunch catching up with a long time friend or meeting a new one. lends well to the culture of asheville

Atlantic Bread Company- though it’s not a asheville gem, it’s a great place to get a bagel or meet someone for lunch. It reminds me alot of panera bread company. The lady behind the counter wasn’t well informed on the menu when I asked for a clarifying question gave me the wrong answer instead of verifying it.

Italian place (name escapes me)- on my first trip to asheville we ate here. the food was good and the decor was nice.

Asheville pizza and brewery- Very cool decor. Little theatre in the back that plays older or little known movies. The theme is movies and there is alot of cool murals and tile work. The waitress was very patient since we took awhile to order since we had never seen the menu before. She answered all of our questions and was nice. We had pizza, fish sandwich (jaws sandwich) and a big salad. The fish was bland but the homemade tarter sauce was fantastic. The pizza was piping hot though i didn’t care too much for the sauce.

Moes- I realize it’s a chain. But the place I wanted to try (urban burrito) we were afraid we wouldn’t be able to get in and out quickly since I had an appointment with the internet guy at 1pm well he didn’t show up till 4:30pm. womp womp. but oh well till next time. Moes was good it was fun to hear them shout “welcome to moes” every time someone walked through the door. There were different size burrittos which was cool since my favorite mexican place (chipotle) had only large burritos that could be mistaken for a baby. They had a cool salsa bar and ur food came with chips. However the steak was over cooked and flavorless. I miss my chipotle but with all that this city has to offer I will survive 🙂

PF chang-  the place was very modern looking. There was a giant statue of a horse outside. The waitress sat us immediately. me being a foodie spotted a great deal. For $40 you could get 2 soups 1 app, 2 entrees and 1 dessert! Hello 4 course meal as i suspected it was ample food for 3 people and in total we spent less than if each of us got an entree on our own. Win-Win! So we got egg drop soup, wonton soup, chicken lettuce leaf wraps (cool concept fijias with lettuce instead of tortillas!), shrimp pad Thai, ginger chicken curry with broccoli (cooked perfectly al dante) and vanilla creamcheese filled wontons with raspberry sauce.

Whits custard- Oh My goodness! all within 2 blocks from my house I have a icecream place (hops,the hop something hop) a frozen yogurt place (yolo! yes thats the name lol) and frozen custard (whits) while I love all three custard is so creamy and delicious. It reminds me of college where we used to to go klines custard shop quite frequently. similarly they have the standard vanilla and chocolate but also a flavor of the week and then a flavor of the day. yesterday I was enticed by the vanilla although the pistacio almond was fantastic. Today as I walked by I resisted the urge to get chocolate coconut maccaroon and/or buckeye. (I never got my buckeyes this past christmas!)

There’s my culinary adventures thus far. Stay tuned to other adventures and if you want to contribute to my list of places to visit or accompany me on my journey I’d love company 🙂

Published in: on May 26, 2015 at 2:01 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2015/05/26/the-foodie-in-me-is-rejoicing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

