Local roots

This week’s culinary Adventure is brought to you by cici’s culinary adventure food truck!! and the farmers tailgate! Every week Asheville holds several farmers markets throughout the city. The one closest to my house which I walked to this morning was at unca’s campus. It really did feel like a tailgate. Tents filled with: herbs, flowers, plants, gluten free tent which the choc chip cookie I tasted didn’t taste any different, honey, spring mix and kale and strawberries and a little bit of squash. Honey, comb candles?,salmon (which was all sold out and there won’t be more till september noooo), fresh chicken, beef, pork, lamb, rabbit, eggs. metal decorations. And they even had a band playing. It’s a beautiful walk on the greenway winding through the unca campus. I saw runners, walkers, bikers, tandem bikes, recumbent bikes, strollers and dogs. At the market they had a food truck which sold mexican food. I’ve only been to a food truck once (actually in hotsprings go figure right?) which I enjoyed so I gave this one a shot. They sold 4 different kinds of empenadas, tamales, and buckwheat crepe (I think) omelettes and also dessert crepes. I chose the spinach empenada. I wish I had had more cash but it was yummy. It tasted more greek than mexican but it was still good. 🙂 I would recommend checking out this farmers market location.

Published in: on May 30, 2015 at 4:43 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2015/05/30/local-roots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

