Sharing what God has done in It works!

There are people I respect not necessarily for their title in life or their job but by how they live their life. Are they honest? Are they willing to help? Do they think I’m an idiot? Do they want to make me better? I can name a list of people at my job that I like for one reason or another but right now I want to talk about a lady very close to me. Elizabeth Brandenkamp. She has drive, she has motivation and This is her story :  It’s more about how much my life has changed in the past year! I don’t think I’ve laid it all out there like this ever. Or been this honest about how bad it was before I joined It Works. I’m crying as I write this and remember:

I’m coming up on my year anniversary with It Works. I truly can’t believe how much has changed in that short amount of time. I had been in my house for just over a month when I realized I had misjudged my budget and overspent on my mortgage by about $300 a month. This meant that I was feeding 3 people on about $100 a month. (We had a house guest at that time.) And I had to leave about $100 for gas to and from work; we couldn’t really go anywhere extra. Often, I’d find myself with only about $15-$20 in my account with 2 weeks left to go in the month, which meant no food or gas.

I had to cut out any expenses that weren’t essential. That meant cutting not only soccer and karate for Corban, but also his college fund and even tithing. Tithing is and always has been essential in my budget, but it was literally a choice between tithing or eating.

But God was good and took care of us anyway. Somehow that tank of gas would last a ridiculously long time. The gallon of milk or box of cereal or loaf of bread lasted just long enough. There were days at the end of the month when I wouldn’t eat to make sure Corban could. (I hid that fact from my parents, though I’m pretty sure they knew since they would invite us over for dinner and send us home with the leftovers and a gallon of milk.)

But even in the midst of that, I scrounged around for the $100 to start It Works because 1-I knew I needed to bring in more money and 2-I couldn’t afford the child care it would cost to get a night job. (Yes, as a single parent, it costs money to get a second job. It was either $200/week minimum for an extra babysitter or $100 one time for It Works.)

I only wanted to make an extra $300 a month to cover the basics. I signed 5 customers and a distributor my first month. My business grew each month, and my commission always increased, but I wasn’t growing quickly. It took me another 4 months to sign Britnee Faulls, but after that, my business exploded. I had caught the bug. I started truly working my business and my commissions started REALLY growing. It only took me another month after that to hit my first goal: make enough to pay for the basics.

After I reached that goal, I was lost. I didn’t know what to do now that is achieved my “dream” of being able to afford food. My mentor, Cristen Sink told me to dream and pray bigger. I was at a point that I couldn’t comprehend what that meant. I knew I wanted to be a stay at home mom, but no single mom ever gets to be that, right? I knew I wanted to be debt free, but what single mom can ever achieve that with all the costs that come with raising a child on her own?! But I dared to dream it anyway. And I’m getting closer every day.

When we go to the grocery store, I’m thankful to buy what we need without stressing. When Corban goes to Montessori school every weekday morning, I’m thankful. When I paid off my credit card, I was thankful. When I write my first full tithing check in over a year next month, I’ll be thankful. When I write a check to pay off in full 1 of my 12 student loans each month for the next year, I’ll be thankful. When I’m a debt free, SAHM, I’ll be shocked and amazed and ever so thankful.

I’m continuing this journey. If you need help changing your circumstances, please message me. I want to help you succeed and dream and live life to the fullest. Anything less is no longer acceptable.”

I’m loving the testimonies I keep hearing from leaders like her. I can’t wait to continue learning and growing with this business and even though I didn’t join for the money I didn’t really have a good reason to join other than I thought it would be fun I did it anyway. i’m still trying to figure out “my dream” but I know a big part of it is living everyday to the fullest and not letting opportunities pass me by where I could have tried something new or helped someone else.

Published in: on August 24, 2015 at 12:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2015/08/24/sharing-what-god-has-done-in-it-works/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

