the secret to being a joyful person

It’s been a little while since i’ve written a blog. I havn’t been experiencing much culinary exploration lately. I’ve been doing a pumpkin exploration at home. Making pumpkin cream cheese, pumpkin mac and cheese and a pumpkin smoothie. All of which were delicious. 🙂 I’ve been also doing some thinking. Self reflection is good right? As I look back and think about the past 5 years, i’m amazed at how far I’ve come. I think everything I’ve gone through living and working at the homestead with knowing so many new people has pushed me way out of my comfort zone and has taught me to live life through the adventurous lens. What’s the point of  going to work if I’m not enjoying my days? I need a job where I am fulfilling a purpose, making a difference and ultimately loving what I do. If I have the opportunity to try something new whether it be a new adventure, new food place or going someplace new. Im always looking for new suggestions 🙂 Through all this I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m more secure in who I am right now than ever. I am a child of God and nothing I do can change that, I am justified, there is no condemnation, i am holy and accepted in christ, i am a work of art, and I am complete in christ. He is enough for me and for the first time I not only know these things but I feel them to be true. They always say fake it until you make it. Well I’ve known these truths for years and now I’ve made it. (not that it was faking it was just a transfer from head knowledge to heart knowledge). I’ve also learned to do things and be around people that bring life to my soul. Some things that bring me joy and breathe life into my soul: trying new foods, creating something out of nothing, cooking a masterpiece or turning a pbj into the best thing ever!, hiking a mtn to see the glory of nature, being at the beach having my feet slowly sink into the sand or walking seeing the indentation as I draw hearts and squiggles in the sand, the different personalities of animals and how pets can make a bad day turn into just a bad moment in time, water sports, laying in the sun while floating on the water, swimming, swings, the holidays where everyone gets together and celebrates being festive, inside jokes, uncontrollable laughter, dance parties while singing off key in my kitchen, seeing a passion in someone else it could be something that i wouldn’t be interested in but b/c their passion makes me want to be an expert just so I could share it with them, learning new things, games, competition, sports and routing for a team that I know nothing about, a good workout, having a lazy day, being productive, taking a nap, cuddling, hugs, long walks, bonfires with acoustic worship music, traveling, road trips, exploring, playing piano. I could probably go on and on but you get the point. Figure out what those things are for you. What do you want to be remembered for? someone who was working all the time, strict about money and time or someone who enjoys their life and spread joy because they felt so much it just came bubbling up and out. My next planned adventure is a greek festival tomorrow so stay tuned for that fun blog!

Published in: on September 25, 2015 at 4:28 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2015/09/25/the-secret-to-being-a-joyful-person/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. This is so wonderful and I can’t wait for you to spread that joy in Guatemala!! Shall we start a countdown??
    And isn’t it interesting that when things are bad or uncomfortable we really find out who we are. It’s like we only have God to rely on when things are falling apart. I can’t wait to look back on my experiences now and be encouraged liked you have been. Thanks for sharing 🙂


Leave a Reply

