From the page to your heart

I’m an easily distracted person. I can multi-task pretty well which makes me good at my job but sometimes it doesn’t leave time for things that are important. God is one of those things that I say that he’s important but if you looked at my life you might not see it because the devil puts up so many distractions that it gets overlooked. Distractions  like my job, my computer, my tv, candy crush, friends. While these are all good things in moderation when they become distractions from greater things you need to take a step back and refocus your priorities. I’ve been seeing these posts on Facebook about 30 day scripture copy reading. The idea is they give you scripture to read, copy and reflect on. This came up at the perfect time since I often have no idea where to begin to open my bible. Today’s reading was Isiah 43:16-19, 2nd corn5:17 I thought I’ve already read that alot of times look at all the underlining in my bible and even side notes but ok lets give it a shot.

“This is what the Lord says; he who made a way through the sea a path through the mighty waters, who drew out the chariots and horses, the army and reinforcements together and they lay there never to rise again. extinguished, snuffed out like a wick! ‘Forget the former things don’t dwell on the past, see I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up do you not percieve it? I am maing a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland!’

“Therefor, if anyone is in Christ he is a new creation the old is gone and the new has come!”

It Got me thinking and even though God was talking to the Israelites in Isaiah it could be easily be applied to me in 2016. He talks about his love for Them/Me :

  • God created me
  • He formed me
  • He has redeemed me
  • He summoned me by name
  • I am His
  • He will be with me
  • I am precious and honored in His sight
  • He will sacrifice anything in exchange for me and for my life. (jesus)
  • He created me for His glory and to be his witness that He is God.

He Also tells us who He is:

  • Before Him, no god was formed
  • He is the Lord
  • There savior apart from Him
  • He has revealed, saved and proclaimed
  • He is God
  • When He acts, no one can stop it!
  • He is our redeemer
  • He is Holy
  • He is King
  • He blots out my transgressions and remembers our sins no mores

I was also thinking about what word should be the word I focus on for this new year 2016 and I’ve decided on: Glorious/Glorify. Two Songs that helped me in my decision.

Just thinking about the glory of God just blows me away and I want to keep that perspective this year. Second song that affirmed my decision sometimes songs communicate what words alone can’t.

This church writes their own own worship music and their lyrics never cease to blow me away.

Published in: on January 2, 2016 at 5:13 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thehandsandfeet.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/from-the-page-to-your-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I know that this is an older post… but thanks for sharing your encouragement. I definitely needed to hear that.
    Love you!!


Leave a Reply

